Default Hearing in Divorce Case

Not every divorce involves a trial, and in many cases, the divorcing spouses do not even need to hire lawyers. In an uncontested divorce, there is no trial. The couple can agree to all of the issues and sign a Marital Settlement Agreement that lays out what they agree on and who will get what in the divorce. The judge simply approves the agreement and declares the couple legally divorced. Sometimes, the judge will issue a default judgment without a hearing. In other cases, though, the court may set a default hearing in divorce. If the court does set a hearing, don't be concerned. Often these hearings are simply a formality to make sure the default judgment is fair.

By |2019-09-02T17:42:18-08:00September 2nd, 2019|Family Law|0 Comments

How to Amend a Divorce Petition

Sometimes after you file divorce, you discover you need to change or correct your Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. Usually, you must amend a divorce petition because there was a mistake in the original filing. Sometimes a person amends the petition to change the case from divorce to legal separation or vice versa. This is not unusual, but it is important you handle the process correctly. Fortunately, you usually don't need a lawyer to amend a divorce petition. A People's Choice can help you throughout your divorce process, even if you need to make changes.

By |2019-07-28T13:13:20-08:00July 8th, 2019|Family Law|0 Comments

How to File Divorce in Riverside County

To file divorce in Riverside County, you must meet specific residency requirements. One of the parties in the divorce must have lived in California for at least six months. Also, that same party must have resided in Riverside County for at least three months to file there. The residence of the Petitioner or the Respondent can qualify. If one of the parties doesn't meet this residency requirement, consider filing for legal separation to allow time to meet residency requirements. Once you meet those requirements, you can move forward with your divorce filing in Riverside County.

By |2019-07-07T17:43:37-08:00July 7th, 2019|Family Law|0 Comments

How to File Divorce When Both Parties Agree

Probably the simplest type of divorce occurs when both parties want to end the marriage and are cooperating. You can file divorce when both parties agree by completing an "uncontested divorce" process. Because uncontested divorce is faster, easier, and less expensive, most couples prefer this process. However, the couple still must file the right papers to protect themselves and get the divorce finalized.

By |2019-06-30T17:59:41-08:00June 29th, 2019|Family Law|0 Comments

How to File Divorce in Sacramento County

To file divorce in Sacramento County, you or your spouse must have lived in California for the past 6 months. Furthermore, you or your spouse must have lived in Sacramento County for the past 3 months. Satisfying residency requirements is the first step in filing divorce in Sacramento County because the court will not enter a divorce judgment if either party has not satisfied California divorce residency requirements.

By |2019-06-01T10:07:29-08:00June 1st, 2019|Family Law|0 Comments

Options to End a California Marriage 

There are three options to end a California marriage: divorce, legal separation, and annulment. Divorce is the most common options used by couples to end their marriage but there is a residency requirement. If a couple doesn't meet the residency requirement for divorce, but want to start the process, they can file a legal separation. Afterwards, once they meet the residency requirement, they can amend the legal separation to a divorce. In an annulment, the court declares the marriage illegal or invalid. A couple must have a legally valid basis for an annulment.

By |2019-05-12T08:58:08-08:00October 7th, 2018|Family Law|0 Comments

How to File Divorce in Los Angeles County

Despite common belief, you do not need to hire an attorney to file for divorce in Los Angeles County. Most people can complete the divorce process without hiring an expensive lawyer. Surprisingly, sometimes you can even finish a contested divorce case without hiring a lawyer! The bigger question is, what is the best way to file divorce in Los Angeles County? These are essential questions, and we will try to discuss them in this article.

By |2019-05-12T09:16:32-08:00September 2nd, 2018|Family Law|0 Comments

The California One Day Divorce Program

Are you looking to get a California one day divorce? Yes, it's true, counties throughout California have launched a one-day divorce program. This pilot program was created to help divorcing couples, who meet specific criteria, do so in one day. Be aware, however, the coined phrase "California one day divorce" is NOT what it seems. Let me be clear. You cannot get a divorce in California in one day. So what is the California one day divorce program all about?

By |2019-05-12T10:03:10-08:00July 11th, 2018|Family Law|4 Comments

Serve Divorce Documents on Incarcerated Spouse

The California divorce process remains the same whether a spouse is in jail or not. California does not offer special privileges or treat the incarcerated spouse differently than a non-incarcerated spouse during the divorce process. With this in mind, you must work with the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation to serve the divorce documents on your incarcerated spouse.ead on to learn how to serve divorce documents on incarcerated spouse.

By |2018-05-18T17:31:45-08:00May 18th, 2018|Family Law|0 Comments