Sadly, not every marriage lasts forever. Sometimes, you find that you need to file for divorce. If you plan to file divorce in San Bernardino County, you must meet specific requirements. Contact People’s Choice, an experienced legal document assistant company that can help you can file divorce in San Bernardino County and prepare what paperwork you must submit.
In order to file for divorce in San Bernardino County, you or your spouse must have lived in California for the past six months, and your or your spouse must have lived in San Bernardino County for the past three months. To begin a divorce proceeding, you will need several forms, which can be found here.
How to Start the Divorce Process in San Bernardino County
You must file several forms in California to begin the divorce process. California requires the moving party to complete and file:
- A Petition- Marriage/ Domestic Partnership (FL-100)
This form asks for basic details about both spouses and the marriage.
- The Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (FL-105)
You only must complete this if you have minor children. If you wish, you can propose a permanent custody arrangement using a Child Custody and Visitation (Parenting Time) Application Attachment (FL-311).
- A Summons (FL-110)
Most people find the divorce forms and process to be overwhelming. We recommend hiring a professional legal document assistant as that is the easiest way to get through the divorce process. If you need assistance and have not hired a legal document preparer or an attorney, San Bernardino has self-help resource centers located at the courthouses in San Bernardino, Joshua Tree, Victorville, as well as the law library in Rancho Cucamonga. These self-help centers offer assistance with reviewing forms. Help is available on a first come, first serve basis.
Necessary Forms to File Divorce in San Bernardino County
Once you have filled out the forms, file them to initiate the divorce. In San Bernardino County, there are three locations that handle law family cases: the courthouses in Joshua Tree, San Bernardino, and Victorville. Filings are based on zip codes. Find out where you should file by looking on the San Bernardino Superior Court’s website. You may base your filing on your address or your spouse’s address. You may be required to pay a $435 filing fee, but that may be waived if you meet low-income requirements.
After filing the forms, serve the filing on your spouse. Anyone over the age of 18 who is not a party to the case may serve your spouse. After your spouse has been served, you must file a Proof of Service (FL- 115). Your spouse will have 30 days to respond. Once your spouse is served with the divorce filing, there is a minimum of 6 months before the divorce can be finalized. There are many other steps required to finish the divorce process. Finalizing the divorce entails additional forms, negotiations, and possibly a court hearing.
Contact A People’s Choice for help to file divorce in San Bernardino County. We offer complete case management and document preparation services for low, flat fees. Call us now at 800-747-2780 or get started right now using our convenient online service!
Was this article helpful? We would love to know your thoughts! If you found this article helpful, please check the LIKE button below. Your feedback helps us plan topics for future articles.