How soon can a Judgment of divorce be entered in California?
Once you file the divorce petition and serve it on your spouse, the earliest effective date of termination of marital status will be six months and 1 day from the date your spouse was served the divorce papers. The actual Judgment can be entered prior to this termination date and can be submitted to the court for processing any time starting 31 days after your spouse was served.
A People’s Choice is ready to help with your California divorce documents
A People’s Choice is a unique online service that provides custom, hands-on help for our clients, preparing their California divorce and family law forms as well as filing them with the court.
Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!
About the Author
Sandra M. McCarthy, founder of A People’s Choice, has worked exclusively in the legal field since 1976. She served as the 2004-2005 President of CALDA (California Association of Legal Document Assistants). She obtained a Paralegal Certificate from the University of California, Santa Barbara. During her career in the legal field, she has worked as a freelance paralegal, law office manager and paralegal studies teacher. She has co-authored numerous legal publications and written hundreds of self-help legal articles and is dedicated to the expansion of affordable, low-cost, self-help document preparation.